I Swear, I’ll Say Something Funny Next Week

I don’t know what to say. I start a thing, then delete it. This seems too big; I feel like I’ll buckle under the weight of grief and anger at any second. 129 dead in Paris, France in a state of emergency, the worst attack on France since the Second World War, 40 dead in Beirut—what the hell do words mean under these circumstances?

Further posts, not about this subject specifically but about terrorism and refugees and Islamaphobia and diversity and…stuff…to follow. Just know this: Paris has stood for 2000 years and I imagine it will stand for at least another 2000. It’s withstood fire, plague, war, revolution; I suspect it can withstand terrorism. Paris will survive. France, God knows how, will survive. So will Beirut. So will Lebanon.

About docmagnus

I write things and draw things. Sometimes I do both at the same time. Sometimes I put what I wrote and drew on the Internet for people to see.

Leave a Reply

